Watercolor and Impressions of Florida


Hello

If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me.  I hope you will come along with me.

If you like Musings, take a moment and fill in your e-mail address in the “sign up” field located on the side-bar to the right.  You will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

Click to check out my artwork

Watercolor

My training as a painter focused on the medium of oil painting.   Abstract Expressionism was in vogue when I began my formal studies.  This left me sort of adrift because I had a difficult time relating to non-representational painting.  I wanted subject matter not just colors shapes and textures.

It wasn’t until I was in my mid thirties that I became acquainted with watercolors.

One of the professors in Arizona State University‘s School of Architecture was Robert Oliver.  Among his duties he taught watercolor painting every other year.  His course was designed for architecture students.  It was not published in the course catalog;  it was publicized by word of mouth.  His goal was to teach students in the School of Architecture to be expressive and to move them away from tight controlled renderings often associated with architectural drawings.

Shirley, my first wife, was studying architectural interior design and learned about the course.  She asked me if I would like to take the course with her and I said , “Sure”.

It was one of the better decisions I have made.

Oliver, as he was called, was a terrific instructor and he conducted his classes by first demonstrating whatever technique he was introducing.  After having shown us how to do a particular technique he would have all of us do it and then, at the end of the class, our efforts would be displayed and critiqued.  This had us actively involved and gave us immediate feed back.

The style of painting he taught was loose and expressive, drawing from the regional California watercolor artists like Rex Brandt, Robert Wood, Phil Dike, Emil Kosa, Jr and Millard Sheets.  If you are not familiar with these artists you should google them.  You will like their work.

The first lesson we learned was about the use of paint.  Many people when they approach watercolor will squeeze out little dabs of paint onto their palette, not wanting to be wasteful.  Their paintings often come out weak and timid.

palette

palette

Oliver instructed us to have a Robert Wood palette which is a rectangle bordered by 24 large wells and in the middle of which are two mixing areas.  He also gave us a list of colors to use.  He had us squeeze an entire tube of paint into each of the 24 wells.  We were horrified.  How wasteful!  But it was not.  The paint does not go bad and the resulting paintings are usually stronger and more vibrant because of the concentration of the paint.

This class opened up the world of watercolor to me.  I work in many mediums but watercolor has been one of my favorites.

As I look through my work, the watercolors sort of chronicle my nomadic  life.  When I first started painting them,  I lived in Arizona and that became the subject of much of my painting.

Carefree Sahuaros

Carefree Sahuaros

Not a Public Passage

Not a Public Passage, painting of Jerome AZ

A View From Jerome

A View From Jerome

High Road at Jerome

High Road at Jerome

Later we moved to California and that became the focus of the work.

At Pacific Grove

At Pacific Grove

Ford Bridge (in Los Angeles Harbor)

Ford Bridge (in Los Angeles Harbor)

San Francisco View

San Francisco View

And eventually we landed in Florida.

A1A Palm Beach

A1A Palm Beach

Colony Hotel

view of the Colony Hotel in Palm Beach

Neighborhood Corner

View of old Florida buildings, now gone

Royal Poinciana Bridge to Palm Beach

Royal Poinciana Bridge to Palm Beach

Much of the Florida work has been pulled together in a book, Impressions of Florida which I have published through Blurb.  You can check it out below.  It would make a unique gift.

Impressions of Florida

Impressions of Florida

Click to see

More to come

Tribbyart’s Boutique

***************************************

Woodcuts Available

Homage to Diego

Homage to Diego

Click Here
Nude with Towel

Nude with Towel

 
Click Here
Glass with Orange Lilies

Glass with Orange Lilies

 
 
About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art exhibit, travel, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

