Breakfast in San Miguel de Allende


Hello

If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork

Breakfast in San Miguel de Allende

This morning I am just going with the flow.  Jeanette and I are here in San Miguel de Allende, a town in the state of Guanajuato in the central mountains of Mexico.  We have come down here for years.  We love it.

It is quite pretty this time of year.  The jaceranda trees are in bloom and the weather is sunny and mild.  All about poeple are busy and the town appears prosperous.

sunny day

sunny day

Jeanette is off doing Pilates and I will be picking her up in about an hour.  So I have decided to have breakfast (desayunar) and am sitting at a roadside establishment.

two restaurants

two restaurants

It is quite small with five tables.  It looked larger when I first saw it because it is next to another small restaurant.  I thought it was all one, but, no, they are separate and they are competing for the same customers.

A small boy, perhaps eight or nine, greeted me and showed me to a table.  His voice is so soft   he is hard to hear over the rumble of the street traffic.  That doesn’t work well with my limited Spanish.

traffic stream

traffic stream

Sitting here is very pleasant and busy.  The street carries a steady stream of cars, buses and trucks, accented with an occasional motorbike.  People walk past on the way to their work.  It is all mesmerizing.

My breakfast, huevos rancheros, has arrived, two eggs sunny side up on a soft tortilla covered with ranchero sauce.  On the side is a small serving of refried pinto beans.   The boy asked if I wanted café Americano.  I said, “No, Regular coffee, please.

That was a mistake.  Regular coffee comes it seems with so much sugar in it that it  is almost syrup.  Next time I will have to be certain to tell them no sugar.

table in the sun

table in the sun

Across from me in the other restaurant a sun kissed table for four is available.  Now four Americans have been seated there.  Unfortunately one of them is in the sun.  And, wouldn’t you know, it is the bald fellow who looks like he has never been in the sun.  They don’t seem to be able to shuffle seating to keep them all out of the sun.  They have decided to move over to my side where there are tables in the shade.  That of course is the other  restaurant and their hostess does not want to lose the business.  She has moved the four of them to a table for two in the shade.  It is painful and funny to see them trying to make the little table work.

Last night we met some friends at the rooftop lounge of Rosewood, a new hotel that opened this year.  The view of the city is spectacular.

panoramic view of Centro

panoramic view of Centro

City View

City View

It was half price Martini night.  With the altitude here being close to 7000 feet, martinis work pretty fast.

Well, it is about time to go get Jeanette.  Don’t know what our plans are for the afternoon or the rest of the week for that matter.  Tomorrow we have friends arriving from California.  They will stay with us five days.  I noticed there is a circus in town.  I think I will check that out.  I have not been to a real tented circus since I was small.

Hasta luego,

More to come

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique


**********************************************

Original Paintings available

SMA Igelsia

SMA Iglesia

SMA Iglesia

Click to see

SMA Parroquia

SMA Parroquia

SMA Parroquia

Click to see

SMA Street Scene with Church

SMA Street Scene with Church

SMA Street Scene with Church

Click to see

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in life style, Mexico, tourism, travel, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

