On Things Personal and Small


Hello

If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork

On Things Personal and Small

Today is a gray rainy day, a stay at home day.  We have just returned from three weeks in Mexico.  One thing you see a lot of there is folk art.  It comes in garish and festive colors and represents almost anything you can wrap your mind around.  So as I sit here thinking about our time away, I am thinking of folk art.  We have a few pieces.  I have decided to share them with you.

A friend of mine from high school days, Leslie Muth, used to have a gallery in Santa Fe, New Mexico.  She introduced me to Outsider Art, art produced by untrained artists, often projecting a very personal vision.

Hell's Angel

Hell’s Angel

This is Hell’s Angel produced by Ronald Cooper in 1993.  I don’t know Mr. Cooper, who lives with his wife, Jesse, in Flemingsburg, Kentucky, but I suspect he has some issues.

C. Cooper Mounted Cowboy

C. Cooper Mounted Cowboy

This next piece, the Cowboy on Horseback was made in 1992 by C. Cooper, Ronald’s uncle.  It is obviously more refined and less confrontational.

Sultan Rogers Carving

Sultan Rogers Carving

And then there is this little fellow by Sultan Rogers.  You can see Sultan Rogers’ work in the Smithsonian Museum.  I have seen it in a show in Paris.

Leslie told me that Mr. Rogers would periodically turn up with a pickup truck full of the little carvings, fantastic and interesting works.  He would not sell a few pieces.  She had to buy the load or nothing and for cash.

These two bulls were made by the Navaho Indians in the Four Corners Area.  When winter sets in the men are house bound.  Creating the small sculptures gives them an occupation and a means of securing income.

We also have a few works based on religion.  First are our angels from Mexico.  We have three.

Angel One

Angel One

Angel Two

Angel Two

Angel Three

Angel Three

We were told three is the appropriate number.  One is too singular.  Two is bad luck.  Three is the right number.

And then we have the Priest and the Devil.

Priest

Priest

The Priest comes from Guatamala.  I picked it up in a junk shop outside of Santa Fe.  The thumbs are broken off and I have been told that is common with the antique figurines.  It is sort of a means of decommissioning the piece.

Devil

Devil

The Devil comes from Mexico.  I don’t know if there is anything special about it.  I just know I  think he is great.

Fisherman

Fisherman

One year I was with Jeanette in a clothing boutique when I saw this fellow.  He was part of the display covered with scarfs and necklaces.  Hmmm!  I liked him too, so now he inhabits our dining room.

And finally, what presentation of folk art would be complete without

PIG

PIG

PIG

the quintessential gift to North America.

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

New Limited Editions available

Swing
Swing
Click to see
The Twist
The Twist
Click to see
About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in animals, art exhibit, indians, life style, Mexico, tourism, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

