More Things Personal and Small


Hello

If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork

More Things Personal and Small

Last week I talked about folk art and showed a few pieces we have.  It got me thinking more about small sculptures and art objects and how much pleasure they give me.  So come along with me and I will show you more of the same.

Love Torch

Love Torch

This is the first original art work I purchased, Love Torch.  The painting is small measuring about   6 inches by 9 inches.  The artist, Cindy Evans, had a quirky sense of humor which appealed to me and she specialized in miniature works.  One of Cindy’s friends also did miniature works, sculptures.

Let Them Talk

Let Them Talk

Here is one called Let them Talk.  It is not clear from the photograph, but this is a box about four inches deep and the figures are suspended in air over the flames.

These two works inspired me and I decided to do a combination of miniature sculpture and painting which resulted in my construction, Passages.

Passages

Passages

This was done about thirty years ago.  Might be time for another go at it.

For a time I was in an acquisition mode and picked up a number of works from local artists.

portugese fisherman

portuguese fisherman

This piece is ceramic and was part a body of work done in a Master’s of Fine Art Thesis by a student at Arizona State University also about thirty years ago.  There was a gallery in Scottsdale that represented students in the college of Fine Arts.  This artist made about 20 works for his thesis and after graduation was moving out-of-state.  Having a gallery specializing in student works was a great help to him.  The piece was inspired by Portuguese Fishermen, who I was told, often hold bait fish in their mouths as they prepare their lines.

The Portuguese Fisherman was the first large work I bought.  Over the years I have picked up a couple more such as the Standing Nude,

Standing Nude

Standing Nude

and Seated Woman.

Seated woman

Seated woman

But most of our things are small.

Equestrian

Equestrian

Equestrian is a piece I made.  The original was carved in red sand stone using a stone I picked up by the side of the road.  I later had it cast in bronze which is what you see here.  This is solid bronze and quite heavy.

Virginia Aparicio

Virginia Aparicio

Virginia Aparicio was made in Mexico.  I found it in an antique store in Phoenix.  I rather doubt it is antique but I think it is quite nice.  The store had almost no other art for sale and sold this for no money.

A number of years ago I attended a charity auction in Boca Raton.

1900's Nude

1900’s Nude

I picked up this amusing little work.  As you can see if you open the coat you have a little nude.

Masks

I also have a number of masks.

Contemporary Mask

Contemporary Mask

protest

protest

These two Contemporary Mask and Protest are works by an artist who shows periodically in Artigras, an outdoor show held in Palm Beach County.

These next two masks I find interesting for other reasons.

Student Study

Student Study

This ceramic study was done by an art student learning to a be a sculptor.  On the back it is inscribed “Madeline Mc Kenna May 1916”.  I found it in Bisbee, Arizona.

Feudal Mask

Feudal Mask

The Feudal Mask came out of the studio of Lyle Wheeler, who was known as the ‘dean of Hollywood art directors’. Lyle Wheeler worked on more than 350 films, winning five Academy Awards (‘Gone with the Wind’, ‘Anna and the King of Siam’,The RobeThe King and I and The Diary of Anne Frank) and was nominated for twenty-four others.  In the mid 80’s my wife and I bought this and several other items at an unclaimed storage auction.

We also have an African Mask,

African Mask

African Mask

a Mexican Mask (which I have worn to a party)

Mexican Mask

Mexican Mask

and this interesting mask that has a face within a face.

Mask within a Mask

Mask within a Mask

There is more, but I think this is enough for today.

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

New Limited Editions available

Swing
Swing
Click to see

The Twist
The Twist
Click to see

 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art exhibit, life style, Mexico, nudes, travel, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

