On Seeing the Earth


Hello

If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork 

On Seeing the Earth

Inspiration, artistic inspiration, is an ephemeral thing.  There are times when it flows easily and there are times when the work is labored and comes slowly.  My work has been grounded in the real world.  I have seldom done non representational abstract work.

Today I would like to show you my newest series of paintings.  These are a departure from the work I normally do and I am excited about them.  Like most of my works, they are grounded in the real world.

This past Easter we were in Mexico for three weeks.  On the return flight I found myself seated in a window seat.  As I watched the earth slide by below I became fascinated by the patterns that came into view:  circles, triangles, rectangles and lines;  interesting textures . . .  a visual treat!

Out of this was born the idea for a new series, On seeing the Earth.  You are among the first to see them.

The Work

This first work, Heartland, started the series.  It grew out of my visual memory as experienced on the plane.

Heartland

Heartland

Next I went to GoogleEarth and scrolled through landscapes.  Viewed at high altitude, these landscapes are an inexhaustible  trove of visual imagery and the basis of the paintings which followed.

Here you see farmland in Nebraska.

Nebraska Farmland

Nebraska Farmland

And, here you see the painting, Nebraska.

Nebraska

Nebraska  48″ x 38″

This is another example, a view of farmland in Nebraska.

Nebraska Farmland

Nebraska Farmland

And, the resulting painting, Fields.

Fields  48" X 24"

Fields 48″ X 24″

Finally, we have farmland in Montana, which has an entirely different feel.

Montana Farmland

Montana Farmland

And the painting Montana.

Montana  60" x 30"

Montana 60″ x 30″

So there you have it, the beginning of a new series.  The possibilities are inexhaustible.  What do you think?

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

********************************

 Paintings

*****************************

Tribbyart’s Boutique

Afternoon Mooring
Afternoon Mooring from $245

Afternoon Sail $195
Afternoon Sail $225

Marina  $195
Marina from $180

 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, life style, Mexico, tourism, travel, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

