Bachelor Weekend Lost or You Can’t Get There from Here


Hello

If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork  

Bachelor Weekend Lost
or
You Can’t Get There From Here

Today I’m hanging out at the Beach Club pool.  I just finished playing croquet with a friend.  I did well today.

Beach Club no crowd

Beach Club no crowd

It’s breezy with clouds this afternoon.  Keeps the heat down.

Beach Club pool

Beach Club pool

Not many people here today, partly because it is summer and people get out-of-town if they can and partly because it looks like rain.  But I like it like this.  I’m waiting for Jeanette to show up.

You Can’t Get There From Here

Now that wasn’t supposed to be the case.  Jeanette had tickets to fly to Colorado yesterday to attend a memorial service.  She was looking forward to seeing longtime friends and  a relative that she had not seen in many years.

Delta

Delta

About two hours before her flight was to leave she received a mechanized call from the airline, Delta, that her flight was delayed and would depart about fifty minutes later than the original itinerary.  PROBLEM!  She had a tight connection in Atlanta and with the delay it was not possible to connect.  At the terminal later she was told all flights up to about midnight were full.  And, there was nothing available out of nearby airports:  Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Orlando.  The agent recommended she fly to Atlanta and go stand-by.  What!  We could just imagine her having to stay overnight in Atlanta.

So her plans were cancelled and Delta refunded her money  and she stayed home.

Bachelor Weekend Lost

And there went my bachelor weekend.  Just me and the dogs.  I had already ordered a couple of movies from NetFlix I knew she would not want to see, crime shootemups, a lot of gratuitous violence.

Pizza

Pizza

I had dinner planned: pizza.  And I had tickets to go hear a Jazz group, Oriente, with some friends.

The Jazz worked out.  We all, Jeanette included, went to the Arts Garage in Delray Beach last night.  The group was quite good.  And it was fun.  We brought food and wine and had a nice evening.  My only suggestion to the group would be to break their performance with an intermission.  They jammed for over two hours before a break.   That is a bit much for me.  Otherwise it was great.

So now I am here by the pool.  Jeanette has arrived.  She commented that there were not many people here.  “No doubt they all flew out yesterday on the planes I wanted to take!

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

********************************

 Paintings

*****************************

Tribbyart’s Boutique

Afternoon Mooring
Afternoon Mooring from $245
Afternoon Sail $195
Afternoon Sail $225
Marina  $195
Marina from $180

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, croquet, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment