A Call for Change


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about Change needed and we will be somewhat political.  If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

A Call for Change

Last night I was having dinner with friends before taking in a movie.  They want to go down to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico next year during the months of June, July and August.  Since we have gone down several times they were getting our response to their plans.

I advised them to drive down.  Being there three months without a car would limit them.  But they were concerned about driving through the northern part of Mexico because of the drug violence.  We have driven it four times in the last six years and I admit we have had our apprehensions.  However, we have never had an incidence or known anyone else that had.

I remarked, “I think people are overly concerned about violence in Mexico.  We have an incredible amount of violence here in Florida and we don’t let it paralyze us.  Everyday you hear about murders and drive by shootings in the local news”.

Sadly it is true.

Gun violence is epidemic.  In 2010 and 2011 there were 150 murders in Palm Beach County and we have less that 1.4 million residents.  Chicago has twice the population and is on track to have 450 murders this year.  We have just experienced the horror of  the school shooting in Connecticut.  Several months ago there was the killing in Aurora, Colorado.  The violence is epidemic and we should demand it be stopped.

Guns are the problem,  not all guns, but guns capable of automatic fire, holding large magazines of bullets.  I am not anti-gun.  I own guns.  I have a concealed weapon carry permit.  The guns I own are revolvers.  One holds five bullets.  The other holds six bullets.  If my concern is to protect myself, these are adequate.

I know people want to protect their right to own a gun.  Fine.  But there is no reason they need an assault weapon or an automatic machine gun pistol.  What insanity is this?

National_Firearms_Museu

National_Firearms_Museum

Several years ago I was at Shiloh, the civil war battlefield.  On my way back to Washington I saw on my GPS a listing for the National Firearms Museum in Fairfax, Virginia.  I decided to take a detour and visit the museum.  It puzzled me because the area did not seem to be one in which a museum would be found.  It was more like a business park.  And then I came upon it:  the National Rifle Association Headquarters.

national-firearms-museum

national-firearms-museum

My impression of the museum was that it was a white wash fraud.

There were wonderful displays of shot guns and rifles, many with exquisite and beautiful filigree and engravings.  It was an impressive display of handsome weapons, a grand scale public relations effort.  None of the weapons were of the type we have been hearing about in the news recently.  I  recall no assault weapons displayed, nor any Glocks or Uzies or automatic pistols.

national firearms museum

national firearms museum

dragooons available

dragoons available

LawEnforcementFirearms

LawEnforcementFirearms

nra-firearms-museum

nra-firearms-museum

nice-showcases

nice-showcases

shot guns

`shot guns

Actually, the display was on the right track in my opinion.  I think people should be allowed to own handsome double barrelled shot guns,  bolt action hunting rifles and revolvers.  That would protect their constitutional right to bear arms.  When the constitution was adopted “arms” referred to black powder, mussel loading, flint lock pistols and muskets.

But I also think that automatic weapons or any weapon holding more than six shots should be banned.  I think the government should establish a buy back period of time in which people could turn in their weapons for compensation.  After that, possession of the weapons should be a criminal offense subject to fines, jail time and property confiscation.

I know there are many people who will disagree with me.  The NRA is a powerful lobby.  They are holding our country hostage.

If you agree with me, feel free to forward this to your friends.

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Beach Walk       $280

Beach Walk

Click to see
Keep Back 15 Ft     $340

Keep Back 15 Ft

Click to see
Beach Club 2009           $340

Beach Club 2009

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, fraud, life style, Mexico, tourism, travel, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Call for Change

  1. Arothman@aol.com says:

    Right on!!!! Reba

Leave a Reply

