Potpourri


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about funnies, theater and art.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Potpourri

Well this is a rambling day, just a jumble of random thoughts

Artsgarage

Program for Exit, Pursued by a Bear

Program for Exit, Pursued by a Bear

Friday night we went with our friends, Jim and Scott to see Exit, Pursued by a Bear at the Artsgarage in downtown Delray Beach.  The play by Lauren Gunderson was wonderful.  It was a one-act 90 minute gem which held me enthralled from the opening to the conclusion. Furthermore the theater experience was fun, sort of like a cabaret.  We were seated at a table with our bottle of wine.  Near us other people had brought their picnic meal.  Just a great evening.

I write this not to urge you to go to see Exit, Pursued by a Bear, because unfortunately its run has ended, but, if you are in the area,  to encourage you to go see future productions at Artsgarage.  The next theatrical production, January 25-February 17, 2013, will be Gloucester Blue by Israel Horovitz.  The playbill says “sex, murder and mayhem in a sleepy New England seaside village — now, thats pure chamber of commerce.”

Artsgarage is located at 180 NE 1st St,  Delray Beach, FL 33444.  The phone number is
 (561) 450-6357.

Peter Pain

Dick Tracy

Dick Tracy

Li'l Abner

Li’l Abner

Today is Sunday, the day the colored funnies come out.  That has always been a favorite part of the Sunday morning experience for me.  Reading the colored funnies.  Sort of like dessert.

When I was five my mother would leave me with my grandmother and she would read me the funnies.  Apparently she would read the same funnies every day until they came out the next week.  I loved them.

But there was one character that really interested me.  His name was Peter Pain.  He had a crooked nose, whiskers,  a twisted body and he was mean.  Peter Pain made a big impression on me.

Years later I still had vague memories of Peter Pain in the colored funnies.  On several occasions I mentioned him to my contemporaries and no one knew what I was talking about.  It was as if I made this guy up!  Never heard of Peter Pain!

Well bring to us today the magic of the internet.  Guess who I stumbled across?

I give you Peter Pain:

peter pain strip

peter pain strip

peter pain

peter pain

Whoever the Ad genius was who came up with that should have been given an award.

Up Coming Show

If you are local, you might want to make a note on your calendar:  January 17th.  I will be having an opening of new work at Jennifer Garrigues, Inc in Palm Beach, 308 Peruvian Avenue, Palm Beach, Florida 33480   561-659-7376.  For the show I have done  new  monotypes.  Here is a preview:

Cats

Cats

Red Ball

Red Ball

I will let you know more about the opening as we get closer.

That’s it for today.  Best wishes for the New Year.

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Dolly $280
Dolly 

Click to see

Tulip $280
Tulip Click to see

Iris $280
Iris 
Click to See

 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in animals, art, art exhibit, life style, travel, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

