The Building of a House


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about the building of a house.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

 

The Building of a House

Down at the end of my street a new home under construction is nearing completion.  They have been working on it for well over a year.  Last April I mentioned it in my Musing about Moving to Florida.  In case you missed that posting and want to read it here is the link http://tomtribby.com/2012/04/01/moving-to-florida/.

Here is what the home looked like last year.

House Underconstruction

House Underconstruction

I have been fascinated with the slow creation of what is a beautiful home.  At  the time I marveled at the attention to detail.

Siding Closeup

Siding Closeup

This looks like siding, but it is in fact stucco or cement, sculpted to look like siding.

Well here is the home today.

house front

house front

covered front entry area

covered front entry area

looking east

looking east

Quite an evolution.  For the last month the focus has been on landscaping.

You can see in the original photo the one tree salvaged.  Now look.

Attention to landscaping

Attention to landscaping

lush planting

All the plants in this photo have been installed in the last month.  It is that way all over the property. The grass looks like a putting green.

Special grass

Special grass

I found this detail in the driveway interesting.

Driveway

Driveway

There are two driveways and each has these grass inserts.  “Wow“, I thought, “What an impractical idea.  The grass will never grow right and will always be a maintenance problem.  Why would you do that?”

One day I was talking with the site manager and I asked about it.  He said, “The city restricts the width of your driveway to ten feet.”  With a straight face, he said with a drawl, “magin the homeowner might fill it in.”

One day on my way to play Croquet at the Beach Club in Palm Beach I noticed a house I’ve driven by many times.  Palm Beach House
side view Palm Beach HouseThis has to be the inspiration for the one at the end of my street.

So . . .  we are looking forward to new neighbors.  I’ve met them in passing, but not really been introduced.  They are a young couple, I would guess in their mid thirties, with two small children.

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Dolly $280
Dolly
Click to see
Tulip $280
Tulip
Click to see
About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, croquet, life style, travel, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

