How Do You Do That?


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about learning how to do stuff.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

How Do You Do That?

How many times have you found yourself wondering how to do some task or how to operate some thing?  I’ve written my Musings for some time now.   I didn’t always know how to do that.  I had never heard of WordPress, the host site for Musings.  So how did that come to be?  Let me tell you.  It might be useful to you.

One Monday I received a call from a friend of a friend who said he would like to discuss my art business.  We met and it became clear soon that he was trying to sell me his marketing services.

Social Media is where it is at today.  If you aren’t on Twitter, Facebook, U-Tube and blogging, you are dead in the water.  I can make that all happen for you.”

He went on to say that for $4000 he would set up Twitter and Facebook for me.  He would produce a U-Tube video and he would develop a blog.  Further, for $400 a month he would run it for me on an ongoing basis.

His message had resonance with me.  I knew from experience that when people would ask what I did for a living and I told them I was an artist, there was a disconnect.  They would reply,” Oh my mother used to paint.”  Or they would ask, “What kind of work do you do?”  And I would struggle to create a picture with words that would explain what I did with paint.  I also knew that I needed a way to show more people my work and to do so repeatedly.  Social media would provide a means to do that.

I said to him,

“Well I think you are right about the value of social media, though I am not convinced it is a way to sell fine art.  However, I am not ready to pay you $4000 to set it up for me.  I may  pay you for parts of it.  And, I’m not willing to pay $400 a month for you to manage it.  I might consider paying a percentage of sales.  Let me give it more thought.”

And we went our respective ways.

Coincidently, at just this time, another friend told me about a “terrific website” called Lynda.com.  He said, “Check it out.  Its great!”

Image representing lynda.com as depicted in Cr...

Image via CrunchBase

I did check it out and I agree it is great.  That is  how I learned how to write my Musings.  And through Lynda.com  I set up my Twitter account, learned to navigate Facebook, learned a lot about what you can do with your I-Phone, became more proficient with Photoshop and Painter XII, and learned how to do make movies from still photos.

It saved me a great deal of money, made me more informed and was a fun experience.

So here is the commercial.

Lynda.com is a subscription site that has hundreds of tutorials available on almost any subject you can image.  They are particularly good at teaching how to use new devices or to deal with new technology.  It is a subscription site.  It costs $25/month.  You can quit at any time, but while you are subscribing you have unlimited access to the library of tutorials.  If you want use the site all day and night you can.

Furthermore, you can go on the site and test run whatever tutorial you have selected. Lynda.com will let you view a chapter without being a subscriber.  That allows you to decide whether the tutorial would be helpful or of interest before you commit $25.

So there you have it.  That is how I learned to create Musings.  I wholly recommend Lynda.com to help you learn to navigate our changing technical world.  And, no I do not have a financial interest in Lynda.com.  I have just found it  the most helpful website I have come across, and think you might, too.

More to come

********************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

 

**********************************************

New Limited Edition Croquet Prints

Waiting for Turn
Waiting for Turn 
Click to see
The Watched Shot
The Watched Shot  
Click to see

Black for the Wicket
Black for the Wicket

Click to See

The Gallery
The Gallery

Click to see

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, life style, travel, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

