Dreams and Their Interpretation


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about Dreams and their interpretation.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Changing the Clock

Yesterday we turned the clocks forward for day light saving time.  Previously I have lived in Guam for two years and in Arizona nearly a third of my life.  Neither place observes daylight saving time.  I don’t know about Guam but the irrigated deserts of Arizona are important agricultural areas.  Cotton and lettuce are big crops.  The legislature decided not to observe daylight saving time.  They were concerned the extra hour of sunlight would be harmful.

You know, when the clock is hungry it goes back for seconds.

Dreams

For some reason I woke today thinking about dreams.  Do you remember yours?  I seldom remember mine.   They may seem fresh as I awake but they fade quickly and I find I am unable to describe them sensibly.  There are a few that have stayed with me, however.  I’ll tell you about them.

The earliest dream I recall came to me when I was five.  At that time my parents were in the process of breaking up.  My mother worked and during the day she left me in the care of a neighborhood lady.  The woman had an unusual feature in her house.  Two of the bedrooms were joined by a common closet.  I found this to be quite fun.  I could run from one bedroom through the closet into the other.

skull

skull

In the dream I was in my bedroom and I heard something outside that was menacing.  I got out of bed and went and locked the door.  Just as I was getting back into bed quite pleased with myself, a monster with red eyes and horns (likely a steer from a western movie common when I was a child) came crashing into the room out of the closet.

My screams woke the household.

Dream Interpretation

Today I went on the internet and I found a site that discusses and interprets dreams: Dream Moods.  Here is the website:  http://www.dreammoods.com/  It is interesting.

Here is part of what Dream Moods says:

“I’m Being Chased!”

Chase dreams are one of several common dream themes, stemming from feelings of anxiety in your waking life. Flee and flight is an instinctive response to a physical threat in the environment. In such dreams, the scenario often features you being pursued by an attacker, an animal, a monster or an unknown figure, who wants to hurt or possibly kill you. Consequently, you run, you hide or you try to outwit your pursuer. Your actions in the dream parallel how you would respond to pressure and cope with fears, stress or various situations in your waking life. Instead of confronting the situation, your dream indicates that you have a tendency to run away and avoid the issue.

Consider the distance or gap between you and your pursuer. This indicates your closeness to the issue. If the pursuer is gaining on you, then it suggests that the problem is not going to go away.

Bull

To see a bull in your dream symbolizes stubbornness, strong will, strength, and power. The dream may be telling you that it is time to take a stand and be more assertive. 

To dream that you are being chased by a black bull implies that you are refusing to acknowledge your own stubbornness.

In the same period of time  I had another dream.  This one I had several times.  In the dream my family was in the car going down Oak Creek Canyon near Sedona and Flagstaff.  If you have been there you know the road winds down the side of steep canyon walls.  In the dream the car goes over the edge and tumbles head over tail down the mountain.

                   Crash

To dream that you are in a car crash indicates that your beliefs, lifestyle, or goals are clashing with another’s. It may also represent a shocking situation or painful experience.

falling

falling

“I’m Falling

Falling dreams are another theme that is quite common in the world of dreams. Contrary to a popular myth, you will not actually die if you do not wake up before you hit the ground during a fall.

As with most common dream themes, falling is an indication of insecurities, instabilities, and anxieties. You are feeling overwhelmed and out of control in some situation in your waking life. When you fall, there is nothing that you can hold on to. You more or less are forced toward this downward motion without any control. This lost of control may parallel a waking situation in your life.

I have never been into dream analysis, but it seems to me that both dreams point to my dealing with my parents failing marriage.  I still remember the dreams.

dumbo

Dumbo

Sometime later the movie Dumbo The Flying Elephant came out.  I loved it.  It was probably my favorite movie before my teens.  I used to dream I was Dumbo, flying and soaring.

“I’m Flying”

Flying dreams fall under a category of dreams known as lucid dreams. Lucid dreams occur when you become aware that you are dreaming. Many dreamers describe the ability to fly in their dreams as an exhilarating, joyful, and liberating experience.

If you are flying with ease and are enjoying the scene and landscape below, then it suggests that you are on top of a situation. You have risen above something. It may also mean that you have gained a new and different perspective on things. Flying dreams and the ability to control your flight is representative of your own personal sense of power.

In reality, we cannot really fly, of course. Thus, such dreams can be representative of things that are beyond your physical limitations. In your mind, you can be anybody and do anything. Another way of interpreting flying dreams is that these dreams symbolize your strong mind and will. You feel undefeatable and that nobody can tell you what you cannot do and accomplish. Such dreams are sure to leave you with a great sense of freedom.

This was a happier time.  Mother had remarried.  Father had remarried.  Both step parents were liked.  Guess it all fits.

writing

writing

The last one I will tell you about happened when I was in college.  I dreamt that I wrote a book of the bible.  The dream was so real that when I awoke I spent several minutes looking through the room trying to find where I had put the writing.  It suddenly came upon me that it  was a dream.  Even then it took me a minute to believe it. 

Writing

To dream that you are writing signifies communication with someone or with your conscious mind. Alternatively, writing refers to an error in judgment or a mistake that you have made. The dream may also be a metaphor that you are “right”.

To see ancient writings in your dream suggests that there is something you need to learn and understand from the past.

Not certain what that means.  But, if you know me, you know I usually think I am right.

For your own dreams, check out Dream Moods.  You might have fun.

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

********************************

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Original Paintings Available

lotion in red
lotion in red
Mizz Oni
Mizz Oni

Click

Kimono
Kimono

click

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, life style, travel, Uncategorized, violence, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreams and Their Interpretation

  1. Pingback: How To Find Out About Dream Meanings | Dreams Come True For you

Leave a Reply

