The Whole Truth


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about a couple of puzzlements, rambling, really.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Click to check out my artwork

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

The Whole Truth

A friend sent me this.  Too funny

The Whole Truth

The Whole Truth

Late Musing

This past weekend flew past.  My friend, William (Tex) Hughes, and his wife, Cherie, stayed with us for a couple of days and we squired them around Palm Beach showing them the sights.  I wrote about Tex in 2011.  If you want to catch up, here is the link:  http://tomtribby.com/2011/10/10/out-of-morocco-with-tex/  We had not seen each other in at least 30 years.  Needless to say I did no Musing over the weekend, so I am playing catch-up again.

SO

Different subject:  Speech patterns are strange.  Recently my ear has caught on to one which is becoming more and more common, and among people who are well educated.  They use the word “so” to begin their answer to a question.

The interviewer asks “How many people attended the meeting?”  The answer “So, there were twenty people there.”

The interviewer asks, “What in your opinion was the essential point the pundit was making?”  The answer, “So, I’m not really certain I understood.”

Perhaps a linguist can explain this to me.

Peter

Another strange insight:  My younger brother has become interested in genealogy and has developed quite a large family tree using Family Tree Maker and Ancestry.com.  This in turn has kindled an interest on my part and I am now building a family tree.

It is engaging.  I have over 3300 people on my chart and I can trace myself through the first English Colony, Jamestown, Virginia to my 15th great-grandfather, Sir William de Ferrers, 5th Baron Ferrers of Groby, born 1375. My guess is that he descended from Normans.   My mother always told me we were English, Scottish, Irish and Welsh and, boy, that seems to be the case.  As far as I can tell, it is only in the most recent generations that we have married outside of these groups.

The families were large.  Most had more than ten children, generation after generation.  Now you know there were lots of men in that 600 plus year chain.  As I did this I noticed something odd.  I only found three men named Peter.  One is my brother, so that  is very recent.

Do you think this was the result of England being protestant during much of this time?  Perhaps the name “Peter” was too closely associated with the Catholic faith.  That probably is not the answer because that would not account for the little use of the name before England broke with the church.  It is a puzzlement.

Got to go.

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

********************************

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Original Paintings Available

lotion in red
lotion in red
Mizz Oni
Mizz Oni

Click

Kimono
Kimono

click

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, life style, travel, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

