Lets Play Post Office


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about our Post Office.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me. Click to check out my artwork

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Lets Play Post Office

The other day I bopped into our local post office, as I do often, intent on retrieving mail from my box.  The box was crammed full. I guess it had been several days since I last got the mail.  As I sorted through the things I found a notice that the post office was holding a letter for insufficient postage: 20¢.

I headed for the counter.  Going to get my letter.  But, whoa, there was a line of people at the counter snaking back and forth like an airport security line.  There was no way I had time for that.  So, I pocketed the notice and headed home, planning to get the letter later.

At the end of the week I found the notice in a pocket.  Off I went to get it.

This time at the post office there was no line.  Good.  I approached the clerk and handed over the notice.  She said, “I’ll be right back”.  She left her counter and a minute or so later returned with a letter, which she handed to me.  “Here you go.”Envelope that had been held at the post office

She turned away and said, “May I help the next person, please?”

I said, “I thought you needed more postage.  I thought that was the reason the letter was held”

“No it was too big.  I guess it wouldn’t fit in your box.  Maybe it was too full.”

“Are you certain?  The notice said insufficient postage.”

She read the notice again, paused and said, “You are right.  It needs 20¢”.

I looked at the letter.  It had first class postage on it and it was not heavy. ” Why does it need 20¢ more postage?  It has a first class stamp on it.”

“It is too big.  It is oversized.”

I looked at the letter.  It was square.  It measured 5 1/2″ x 5 1/2″.  A regular letter measures 4 1/8″ x 9 1/2″.  Hmm!  I handed her a quarter.

She left the counter and came back with a 20¢ stamp which she handed to me.

I said, “Why are you giving me the stamp?  I owe you 20¢ for this letter having been sent to me already.   This stamp”, I said holding the stamp she handed me, ” could be used.    The postage should have already been on the letter and should been cancelled.

“Well, OK”, she said taking back the stamp.  She affixed it to the letter and cancelled it.envelope

Somehow I came away feeling a core concept was being misunderstood.  Never the less, I like the George Washington stamp.  It looks better than the Liberty Bell.George Washington 20 cent stamp issued 2011

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

********************************

 Tribbyart’s Boutique

Monotypes Available

Foxfire
Foxfire

Click

Gourds
Gourds

click

Koi
Koi

click

Lady Blue
Lady Blue

click

Lisa on a Green Throw
Lisa on a Green Throw

click

Pussycat
Pussycat

click

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, life style, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

