Head of the Dog


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about a beer named Head of the Dog or more exactly, Cabeza de Perro.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me. Click to check out my artwork

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Head of the Dog

When I moved to Florida from San Francisco I found the change exotic and profound.  Gone were the cool and foggy summers, the sophisticated street scene and the harbor with its wharfs and sea lions.  In their place were hot and steamy summer days, the sense of casual sloppiness and the marinas full of yachts and the occasional manatee.

In the beginning Miami and Miami Beach held a great attraction for us.  We especially liked the Cuban restaurants.  I’ll tell you about one of my first experiences.

We were at a  Cuban restaurant in Miami Beach.  It was a charming old restaurant with sidewalk seating.  My thoughts were of Palomilla steak with raw onions, black beans with yellow rice, plantains and of course a beer or two.  When the waitress came to us it was clear she spoke very little English.  We were even.  I spoke very little Spanish, but I did know some.

Guinness Label

Guinness label

First things first.

I asked, “Do you have Guinness?  ¿Usted tiene Guinness?”
“No señor”,
she relied.

That was disappointing.  I like a good stout and almost any dark beer.  So I tried again.

“¿Usted tiene cerveza negra?  (do you have dark beer?)”
“Si, Señor.  Cabeza de Perro.”
“Cabeza de Perro?”, 
I asked.

Head of the dog!  who had ever heard of Head of the dog?

“¿Es negra?”, I inquired tentatively.
“Si, Señor.  Es negra”.
“Bueno.  OK.”

Guess I’ll try it I thought to myself.

The waitress left and a short time later she returned with my beer . . . a Guinness.Bottle of Guinness Extra Stout

“¿Cabeza de perro?”, I asked.
“Si señor.  Cabeza de perro!”, she replied as she walked away.

I looked at the bottle askance.  As I turned the bottle around, on  the reverse side  there was a second label with a jaunty English bulldog wearing a sailor’s cap and the title,
Cabeza de Perro.  Something like this:

Cabeza de Perro copy

Viva Cuba!

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Wood Cuts available

Glass with White Lilies
Glass with White Lilies
$2300
Homage to Diego
Homage to Diego
$1500

Click to see

Nude with Towel
Nude with Towel
$1500

Click to See

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in animals, art, beer, English, food, tourism, travel, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

