Lets Face it!


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about a wall of faces.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

button linked to Tribbyart's Boutique

      This is the way to TRIBBYART’S  BOUTIQUE. Click on the lion and you will go there.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Click to check out my artwork 

A Wall of Faces

Our face is what the world sees when we present ourselves.  Some faces blend into the sea of faces without particular distinction.  Other faces can become cultural icons.  Most faces are somewhere between.

In my house is a wall of faces.  Some have significance beyond what is seen by the eye but most are objects to be enjoyed.  I thought I would share them with you.

Mask Asian

Mask Asian

This Asian mask was my mother’s.  I think she acquired it when she lived in Japan.  I have always liked it for its sense of serenity.  It is not large, only about five inches tall.

Mask, student work

Mask, student work

The first face I bought was the above student work, a study dated 1906.  It is a study of a renaissance sculpture.  I found it in an antique shop in Bisbee,

La ville de Bisbee en Arizona

 Arizona in 1980.  If you have ever been to Bisbee you know how unlikely it was that this would be there.  In  its day, the town was wealthy, built upon copper fortunes.  Some cultured person likely brought it there.

I think this lovely lady was the next of my find.

Mask, middle ages

Mask, middle ages

She came out of the studio of Lyle Wheeler, a prominent movie director.  He was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Art Direction twenty-nine times, winning five.

I bought it out of an unclaimed-storage auction in Los Angeles Harbor.  The auction was sort of grab bag.  Sealed boxes were brought out and sold to the highest bidder.  We did not know what was in them or whose they were.  Pure blind bidding.  I was interested because I saw an easel in the storage and some of the boxes had the word “studio” written on them.  I assumed it was property of an artist.  I bought a few boxes for ten and fifteen dollars each.  When I got them home, among assorted stuff, I found the mask.  It was probably a movie prop.

This next mask addresses the issue of the self you present  to the world and the inner self.

The Face you present to  the world

The Face you present to the world

Above is the face the people see.  Below is the real you.

The Inner Face

The Inner Face

I like this fellow because he makes me think of how I feel when I get the utility bill.

Protest

Protest

This was crafted by an artist who participates in the out-door art shows that frequent the area.  Unfortunately I have lost his name, but I recognize his work when I see it and I have acquired several other pieces.  Here are two more of his.

Contemporary Mask

Contemporary Mask

Mask, African contemporary

Mask, African contemporary

When we were in Mexico one summer I came across this . I’m not certain what it is meant to represent.  But I like it.  It makes me think of the day after.

Mask Mexican

Mask Mexican

This abstract face given me by a very good friend of mine, now deceased.  It is unique in the collection.

mask abstract

mask abstract

Finally we come to my African Mask.  It sort of anchors my wall of faces.  It is quite old and I think it has a special spirituality.

mask, African

mask, African

There you have it.  I find great pleasure in these.  Hope you did as well.

More to come.

********************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

 

**********************************************

New Limited Edition Croquet Prints

Waiting for Turn
Waiting for Turn 
Click to see
The Watched Shot
The Watched Shot  
Click to see

Black for the Wicket
Black for the Wicket

Click to See

The Gallery
The Gallery

Click to see

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us: 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, life style, Mexico, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lets Face it!

  1. Deborah Dobie says:

    Nice column, Tom.

    Debby Dobie http://www.dbdobie.com

Leave a Reply

