Saying Good-bye


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about  my good friend, Lancer.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

button linked to Tribbyart's Boutique

     This is the way to Tribbyarts Boutique.  Click on the lion and you will go there.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Click to check out my artwork 

LancerLancer

Lancer

This week a good friend of ours left us.  I wish to say good-bye.  Lancer died December 31st, not quite 12 years old.  There feels like a gray hole in my stomach.

He was a great little dog, tough and strong.  And he was a loving dog , always happy.  I never knew him to snarl at people or to show anger (except once in a while when our other dog, Kiko, would get in his face).  He liked everyone.

He started out as Jeanette’s dog.  That is Lancer on the right, a cute Norfolk Terrier.

Lancer as puppy( right)

Lancer as puppy( right)

I met him when he was a bit older than one year.  We became good friends.

Lancer and I get acquainted

Lancer and I get acquainted

Lancer age 1

Lancer age 1

Lancer was a watcher.  He would spend hours sitting on the window sill watching the world pass by.  He loved looking out the car window.  Our other dog, Kiko, had no interest.  She would just sleep.  Not Lancer; he was glued to the window.

Lancer on the window sill

Lancer on the window sill

And he was a  companion.  I spend a great deal of time home and he would be near me all the time.  If I walked into the kitchen, he would wander into the kitchen.  If I went back to the studio, he would come back to the studio.  He would sleep under my desk.  He was with me whenever I was home.

lancer napping

lancer napping

He Knows he is cute

He Knows he is cute

A year and a half ago the groomer discovered his lymph nodes enlarged.  Lymphoma!  He then started a regimen of chemotherapy, every other week.  Initially he responded well and went into remission, but after two months of remission the cancer came back and the chemotherapy was resumed.  During all this time he was happy and active, with a great appetite.  He did not know he was sick.  He was just a tough little guy.

This all seemed to come  to a head the last week.  He had slowed down recently and then suddenly he had several problems surface.  The night before he died Jeanette stayed up with him giving him little sips of water every two hours, a requirement of one of the new medicines he was taking.  I think Lancer knew the end was near.  For a time I sat out by the pool in the evening.  Lancer came over to me and I held him in my lap.  He licked my face for nearly 30 minutes.  That was very unusual.  Normally he would sit in my lap for a minute or two and give me a few licks.  But this was different.  I think he was saying good-bye.

Lancer loved the backyard and the bushes.  He would sit in them hidden from view and watch for lizards and squirrels.  He would spend hours that way.  In the end he went into the bushes and collapsed, laying very still.  I think he went there to die.  We rushed him to the Animal hospital but his time had come.

Vaya con el Dios, Lancer.  We love you and miss you.

more to come

Click to check out my artwork

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the sign up button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new postThere is no obligation.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

******************************** 

Original Paintings Available

lotion in red
lotion in red
Mizz Oni
Mizz Oni

Click

Kimono
                                                                  Kimono                                                                                                                                                         click
For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us:

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in animals, art, life style and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saying Good-bye

  1. Sorry Tom…a very sweet dog.

    J&J

Leave a Reply

