The Project


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about creating a Diorama. If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.button linked to Tribbyart's Boutique     This is the way to Tribbyarts Boutique.  Click on the lion and you will go there.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Click to check out my artwork 

The Diorama  

  Two weeks ago I wrote about Creativity.  I mentioned that I had received a lot of Styrofoam in a shipment of paintings.  It was used to protect the artwork.  I decided to use it in creating a  diorama. At that time I was working with this

Styrofoam

Styrofoam

and this

Figurine

Figurine

So today I thought I would bring you up to date. I decided to create a simple street setting in which to position the figurine and the dog.  Here you can see the design being developed on the main wall and the side wall.

initial design main wall

design main wall

 initial design on side wall

design on side wall

These were lightly textured and color was introduced.

developing the walls

developing the walls

Eventually the walls were fully developed.

Side wall

Side wall

main wall

main wall

The material is very delicate and easy to damage so I needed to build a case in which to assemble the project.

 protective case

protective case

Here you see the case being prepared for metal leaf.  This was a difficult undertaking.  I had to build it twice because the material I used the first time was too thin.  I also learned that I have a difficult time seeing three dimensional objects in my mind.  Several times I cut the mitered corners incorrectly.  But eventually it was constructed and ready for metal leaf to be applied.  This shows the beginning of that process.  Once applied the metal leaf was coated with Red shellac to give it a rich glow and to prevent it from later tarnishing.

applying metal leaf

applying metal leaf

Finally the project is completed.  Whether to paint the figurine and dog or not has been an issue.  I concluded that the work is more thought-provoking if they are left white.  What do you think?

finished Diorama

finished Diorama

Finished Diorama

Finished Diorama

more to come

 Works Available

Glam
Glam, Oil on Canvas with Metal leaf

Mon Ami Ma Ami

                                   Mon Ami Ma Ami, Oil on canvas
This Way
This Way Oil on Canvas
Blue Diva
Blue Diva  Mixed Media
Click to check out my artwork
If you like Musings, take a moment and click the sign up button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new postThere is no obligation.
                          ****************************************
                                    Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available.
                                           Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us:

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, life style, psychology, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

