Chicago and Back


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about Chicago and travel advice.  If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

button linked to Tribbyart's Boutique     This is the way to Tribbyarts Boutique.  Click on the lion and you will go there.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Click to check out my artwork       

Chicago and Back

This last week I went to Chicago on some family business.  I was gone five days.  Although it was not a pleasure trip I did have some time to walk around the downtown area.  I was staying in the John Hancock Center.  As you can see, it has some pretty stunning views.

view from Hancock apartment

view from Hancock apartment

View from the Hancock

View from the Hancock

The weather was generally good.  My understanding is that this was the first nice weather in weeks.

 Crowds

Crowds

People crowded Michigan Avenue shopping.

 children playing in the foutain

` children playing in the fountain

 Nice Weather

Nice Weather

Tourists were everywhere.  Many people were taking the downtown boat excursion.

Chicago Boat excursion

Chicago Boat excursion

And some, like me, went to the Art Institute of  Chicago.

Line to get tickets at the Art Institute of Chicago

Line to get tickets at the Art Institute of Chicago

It was a busy bustling place.

However the night before my morning flight home, the rain and lightning broke forth with a fury.  There were high winds, sheeting rain, thunder and multiple lightning strikes.  The next morning the trip to O’Hare International Airport was a slow grind.  In several places the roads were flooded and the traffic was backed up for miles and moving at a crawl.  I later saw on the news that people abandoned their rides and walked to the airport dragging their luggage behind, trying to catch their flight. Fortunately I had left early and had enough time to make it to the airport.

So why am I telling you this?  I want to recommend you enroll in the TSA pre-check program or the Global Entry System if you plan to do much travelling.  Both programs work on domestic flights.

When I arrived at the terminal, the security check-in line was unbelievable!  It stretched down half the length of the terminal and doubled back on itself twice.  I don’t know how many hundreds of angry and frustrated travelers were shuffling along in that line.  Awful!

Fortunately I had been pre-screened by joining the Global Entry System.  I went to the expedited screening line.  There were two people ahead of me.  I put my carry-on  onto the conveyor for the x-ray, passed through the screening device and was on my way.  No removing shoes, belts, laptops, coats and hats.  Four minutes tops!

So I am back in Florida.  I landed just as the storm, now called Hurricane Arthur, was dumping massive amounts of rain on West Palm Beach.  For the past three afternoons we have enjoyed our tropical rains.  As I write this now, this is what I am seeing.

Stormy sky

Stormy sky

Time to go home!

more to come  

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the sign up button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

********************************

Original Paintings Available

Painting of horse figurines  and still life tomtribby.wordpress.com
Horses with Floral 
Click
Horses Four tomtribby.wordpress.com
Horses Four
Click
Horse Collection tomtribby.wordpress.com
Horse Collection

click

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us: 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, life style, tourism, travel, weather, work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicago and Back

  1. I had birthday drinks at the top of the Hancock Tower when I visited Chicago. Such amazing views!

Leave a Reply

