This and That


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about this and that.  If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

button linked to Tribbyart's Boutique     This is the way to Tribbyarts Boutique.  Click on the lion and you will go there.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Click to check out my artwork       

This and That

Welcome Home

We came home to a roof leak.  It is being repaired as I write this.  However, my office looks like this.

office

office

It has been this way for several days while we waited on the repair men.  Keeps me from getting anything accomplished.  Ho Hum!

New Camera

In the meantime I have been learning how to use my camera.  I lost the one I took to Mexico.  The new one is a Canon Power Shot SX50 HS.

This thing is a computer all in itself.  I doubt I will ever get to know the more advanced features.  The manual is over 200 pages.  That is a lot for a point and shoot guy like me.

It even has face recognition capability.   I took a photo of Jeanette and registered it in the camera software.  Now when I take a picture with Jeanette in it, be it alone or in a group, the camera is supposed to recognize her and highlight her with greater focus.  We will see if this works.  Apparently I can “register” up to 12 faces.

This is a long way from the brownie I had as a kid.

Treasures

In the process of testing the camera, I took some pictures of some of the “treasures” we brought back from Mexico.  I will share them with you.

pottery

pottery

Candlesticks

Candlesticks

Michoacán oval bowl

Michoacán oval bowl

 Pig

Pig

Michoacán Day of the Dead Plate

Michoacán Day of the Dead Plate

These next two are inspiring.  The candle and the etched glass.

candle 5 inches in diameter

candle 5 inches in diameter

Etched Glass

Etched Glass

A short distance out-of-town, San Miguel de Allende, is a candle factory and glass company.  The candles are hand dipped, quite labor intensive and beautiful.  Charlie, the owner, supplies Neiman Marcus and similar quality stores around the world.  The same is true for his glass works.

Charlie was a thalidomide baby born in the 50’s.  He has deformed arms and hands.  He is out going and cheerful, full of good will and humor.  He also employs handicapped men and women.  Several of the workers doing the glass etching had severe deformities.  They also appeared to be thalidomide babies. One of the women had no arms and yet she would cradle the glass between her chin and shoulder and create the beautiful etching you see here.

I came away with a great admiration for Charlie.  He is quite successful despite his challenges and he is providing meaningful employment and dignity to people society would simply warehouse.  Thank you Charlie.

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

 Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Wood Cuts available

Glass with White Lilies
Glass with White Lilies
$2300
Homage to Diego
Homage to Diego
$1500

Click to see

Nude with Towel
Nude with Towel
$1500

Click to See

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us: 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, life style, Mexico, tourism, travel, work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

