In The Studio


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about the business of art.  If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

button linked to Tribbyart's Boutique     This is the way to Tribbyarts Boutique.  Click on the lion and you will go there.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Click to check out my artwork

In the Studio

Next week, Thursday the 29th, I will have an opening at Jennifer Garrigues, Inc  at 308 Peruvian Avenue in Palm Beach.  The exhibit will run through Valentines Day.

Shown will be a mix of monotypes, paintings and sculptures.  For the last couple of weeks I have hustled around getting ready.  I thought I would take you into the studio today and give you an idea of the process . . . in case you decide to become an artist.  Hah!

First thing of course was the creation of the works.  That is the fun part.  Afterwards,  however, comes the production and record keeping tasks.

Production

Monotypes are works-on-paper and, as such, are framed under glass and with a mat.  Much more involved that framing an oil painting.

Several weeks ago I measured the pieces and placed an order for the frames.  They arrived last week all in good condition.  It turned out I measured two incorrectly and they could not be used for these works.  Bummer!  But I can use them later on something else.

The biggest chore was cutting the mats.  I use a double mat because I like the look.  Here is an example:

  double Mat

double Mat

But it means twice the work.  You may wonder why we need a mat at all.  Well, for one, it looks better, but functionally the mat prevents the image from touching the glass.  Over time it is possible for moisture to condense on the inside of the glass and the work would be damaged if it was touching.  The mat  should be acid free otherwise over time it will cause the artwork to deteriorate.

Once the Mat is cut the framing needs to be assembled.  Think of it as a series of layers. First is the frame;  next is the glass; then the mat; and the artwork; followed by an acid free backing; and a dust cover; and finally wire for hanging.  It is a process.  After assembly I put protective sleeves on the corners to prevent damage when being moved.

Here you see the work stacked up and ready to go.

stacked work

stacked work

Record Keeping

Remembering what work I have on hand and where other works are physically is a problem.  I have done hundreds of paintings and prints over the years.  Some are here in the studio as you can see.

Studio Storage

Studio Storage

Others are in storage, or at galleries.

storage unit

storage unit

I keep an inventory  of my unsold work on the computer.  However, with the number of works I have created I do not always remember what each title looks like.  This is especially true of works done years ago.  So I have developed the following process:  an image of each work is recorded on a card, cards like you see here.

File Cards

File Cards

On the back of the card I list the title of the work, the medium, when it was created, if it has appeared in publications or been reproduced.  If it is out on consignment I record the date consigned and with whom.

Studio File Box

Studio File Box

The cards are kept in my file box alphabetically. There is a section for sold works, another for works on hand and a section for each gallery that has work on consignment.  That is how I know where things are.

So that gives you a sense of the functional side of being an ARTEEST.  Now I need to schlep the pieces over to Palm Beach to be hung for the show.  If you are in the area, I welcome you to stop by:  Jennifer Garrigues, Inc, 308 Peruvian Avenue, Palm Beach, Florida, Thursday 29 January 2015 6PM – 8PM for the reception or business hours through February 14.

more to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the sign up button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

********************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

 

**********************************************

New Limited Edition Croquet Prints

Waiting for Turn
Waiting for Turn 
Click to see
The Watched Shot
The Watched Shot  
Click to see

Black for the Wicket

Black for the Wicket

Click to See

The Gallery

The Gallery

Click to see

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us:

 

 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, croquet, games, life style, monotype, stanchion, wicket, work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

