More Morocco


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about more travelling in Morocco.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

button linked to Tribbyart's Boutique     This is the way to Tribbyarts Boutique.  Click on the lion and you will go there.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Click to check out my artwork

After Marrakech

we headed by car north to Rabat and later on to Fes.  We had a driver for each leg of the trip.

The countryside was green.  Morocco had a lot of rain this season.  Normally it is barren and more brown.  Still it is rocky and with cactus.

leaving Marrakech

leaving Marrakech

 Cactus and Rock

Cactus and Rock

About an hour up the road we needed to stop for natures call.  In the men’s room I came across this.

Toilet

Toilet

This, by the way, is uni-sex:  same for the gals as for the guys.  You stand on the foot pads and squat.

I share this because it brought back a funny memory.  When I was a teenager living with my family in Casablanca, we had a two bedroom house.  There were five of us:  my parents, my sister, my younger brother and me.  My parents had the main bedroom.  My sister had the other bedroom.  My brother slept in a cot in a hallway and I slept in what normally would have been maid-quarters, a detached complex in the walled back yard.  It  consisted of a sleeping room and a bathroom with one of those toilets.

In the backyard we had a group of small tortoises.  Five, if I remember. They would bump around the enclosed area eating lettuce and other scraps we would give them.

One night I had gone downtown to the movie.  When I got home everyone was asleep.  I went out in the dark to my quarters and . . . the door to my room was ajar!  I had this fear of an intruder being in my room.  I knew he would attack me and cut my throat!

I inched into the darkness holding my throat and flipped the light switch.  Nothing!  The lamp was unplugged.  I crept along the wall still holding my throat until I got the bathroom.  I reached in and flipped the light switch.  Ta Dah! Brilliance!  No intruder to rip out my throat.

But then I saw in the toilet, head down, little hind legs poking up, a small tortoise.  I figured out I must have left the door unlatched and the tortoise must have bumped it open and proceeded around the room until it got on the slope of the toilet heading downward to the inevitable.  I pulled it out.  I flicked the hind legs.  Flaccid.  I don’t know how long it was head down in the water of the toilet but I was certain it was dead.  Then,  slowly, its head emerged from the shell, eyes closed.  It opened its mouth and went, “AAAAAAGGGGH!

I’ve never forgotten.

Anyway back to Rabat.

We were there only a day.  It was enough time to go to the Kasbah and view the Sultan’s palace.

Main Gate of the Kasbah

Main Gate of the Kasbah

Marrocos-Kasbah-Oudaya-Rabat-Luis-Filipe-Gaspar

Marrocos-Kasbah-Oudaya-Rabat-Luis-Filipe-Gaspar

At the Sultans castle

At the Sultans castle

Garden in Sultan's castle in Rabat

Garden in Sultan’s castle in Rabat

Across the road from the Kasbah is the Medina, where people live and have businesses.  The side streets were nearly deserted.  It took us a while to find our way to the market area.  It is like a maze.

quiet street

quiet street

Once we found it, we saw the market area was a local market, not tourist oriented.  That was refreshing in a way.

In the Medina Rabat

In the Medina Rabat

Medina market in Rabat

Medina market in Rabat

Later, we spent a quiet afternoon at out hotel.

v

a quiet afternoon at the hotel

The gardens were wonderful and the residential area nearby was upscale and lovely.

Hotel gardens

Hotel gardens

 Residential area in Rabat

Residential area in Rabat

In the morning we left for Fes. The fog was just lifting.  Rabat is on the coast.

 city walls Rabat

city walls Rabat

So we were off to Fes.

Not far out of Rabat we went through miles of forest like this.

 cork forest

cork forest

As you can see, people were camping and picnicking.  What caught my attention was the tree trunks.  Notice the dark lower trunks.

Did you ever wonder where the cork in your wine bottle came from?  You are looking at it. These are cork forests and the lower part of the trunk has been harvested.  The bark (cork) has been pealed away.   In time, it will grow back and the cork can be harvested again.  There are miles and miles of these forests.  I had forgotten this.

As we travelled toward Fes we passed many herds of sheep.  I was told over two million a year are used in the leather industry alone.

Shepard and Sheep

Shepard and Sheep

By mid-afternoon we reached Fez and headed toward our hotel, the Riad Fez, in the heart of the Medina.  Here we are at the Medina gate near our hotel.

v

A gate to the Medina is ahead

We walked down narrow passages (especially fun at night).

heading to our hotel

heading to our hotel

And down more.

 a bit further

a bit further

Finally, we came to this passage way.  The hotel entrance is on the right, just before it gets light.

Down this passage

Down this passage

And, “Voila!”, Riad Fes.

 lobby Riad Fes

lobby Riad Fes

 checking the itinerary

checking the itinerary

 Outside our door  Riad Fes

Outside our door Riad Fes

I’ll tell you more about Fes later.

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the sign up button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

**********************************************

Original Paintings available

At Waters Edge

At Waters Edge

Port of Palm Beach Harbor

Port of Palm Beach Harbor

Stormy Day

Stormy Day

View from the Roof

View from the Roof

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us:

 

 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in animals, art, art exhibit, life style, tourism, travel, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

