A Healing Takes Longer


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about a matter of faith.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

button linked to Tribbyart's Boutique     This is the way to Tribbyarts Boutique.  Click on the lion and you will go there.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Click to check out my artwork

A Healing Takes Longer

The other day I was in a conversation with a friend.  She started her comment with “It’s a miracle that . . . .”  Her comment triggered a memory from many years back.

In my mid twenties I became a life insurance salesman.  I know, “Eww, Life Insurance sales!”  Actually, it was in many ways the most fun job I ever had,  But, that is beside the point.  You don’t see much of it today, but back then most of us called on people in their homes, meeting them across the kitchen table.  In time many customers became friends.

One night I was meeting with a repeat customer in their home.  They had become very religious in the recent years.  In an effort to reconnect with them, I asked something like “How are things at the church?”

That opened a well of enthusiasm.  My friend went on and on about the activities of his congregation, events they were involved in and what was planned next.  It was amazing to see his transformation.

Suddenly he asked, “A miracle,  Would you like to see a miracle?”
“A miracle? “
I asked.
“Yes, A miracle!”
“Well, I guess.”
, I replied hesitantly.

He jumped up.  Grabbed a straight back kitchen chair and pulled it to a central place in the room.  “Here.  Sit here and put your legs straight out”,  he instructed.

I followed his lead and sat in the chair in the middle of the room with my legs straight out.

“Look at your legs.  Is one longer than the other?”

And, you know, one did seem longer than the other!

“I guess so.”
“Do you want to fix that?”
, he asked.
“I guess so.” I falteringly replied.

He called his wife over to help.  She removed my shoes and knelt before me cradling my feet in her arms.  He put his hands on my head and began to pray.

“Oh Lord, Hear our words. Hear our prayer.  Heal this man”, or some words very similar.  She continued to hold my feet and repeatedly murmured, “Lord hear our Prayer. Hear our prayer.”

This went on for what seemed like a very long time.  And, you know what!?  It appeared that one leg got longer.  It slowly seemed to extend itself.

Excitedly, he asked, “Are your legs the same length?”
Uncomfortably, I replied, “I think so”.

It’s a Miracle!  You have seen a Miracle!

Now, if you know me, you know I am not too good with this type of thing.  I stood before him, listing to one side, and said “It will take a while to get used to this.”

Excited, he asked if I would like to see another miracle. “Do you have anything else wrong with you?”, He asked.
“Well, I was born with flat feet.”

That did it.  I was back in the chair, his wife at my feet, his hands on my head and we repeated the process.

At the conclusion, he asked,  “Do you feel the change?”

“I don’t think so.”, I replied, “They still seem to be flat”.

“That is the difference between a Miracle and a Healing.  A Healing takes longer.” 

more to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the sign up button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

**********************************************

Original Paintings available

Waiting in Yellow

Waiting in Yellow

Twins

Twins

SMA  Friends

SMA Friends

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us:

 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, life style, psychology, religion, work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

