It’s Eating Me!


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about what is eating me.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

button linked to Tribbyart's Boutique     This is the way to Tribbyarts Boutique.  Click on the lion and you will go there.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Click to check out my artwork

Comments on eating out

MRS. T

dining

dining

Some time ago I took a friend to dinner at a downtown club.  My friend, Mrs. T, was in her mid 90’s.  In her youth she had been quite good-looking.  I know from photos.

And she had led a privileged life, outliving three husbands.  The first two were great loves:   one, a composer whose music you know and, the second, a black sheep heir to a fortune you know.  The third . . . well he was a banker and all she said about him was, “He was boring.”

By the time I came to know Mrs T she had outlived almost everyone who had meant anything to her.  She was lonely.  To go out to dinner and have someone to talk to was a treat.  She enjoyed this immensely.  And she did love to talk.

So this evening as the dinner progressed, Mrs T talked on and on barely touching her food.  She was in her element!  I had finished my meal and dessert and was enjoying coffee as she chatted on.  I don’t think she had taken more than a couple of bites.

The waiter hovered over to the table and addressed her,

“Are you still working on that, Mam?”

Her eyes flashed and she flared,

“I . . . beg . . . your. . . pardon!!!  I AM NOT WORKING on anything.!!!  I am DINING!!!”

I think the waiter’s question should be retired.  You hear it everywhere when you are out for dinner.  It always makes me think of Mrs. T.

THE SHARING

Another time a group of us was out to dinner, dutch treat, if I remember.  There must have been ten of us.  As the meal wound down the waitress inquired,

So you can share

So you can share

“Would anyone want dessert?”

Going around the table each person declined until she came to me, the last person.  I said,

“I’ll have the chocolate volcano”.

It was a large decadent mound of chocolate cake, ice cream and fudge.  MMMMMMMMM!

“OK”, she said, “and I’ll bring some extra forks so you can share”.

“WHAT!!???”  I say, “WHAT!!???”

Do you think the waitress was even aware of what she did?  As it was, I wanted the dessert . . . all the dessert!  She put me an awkward position.  Appear stingy or not have the dessert I ordered.

That happens often.  A person orders something, usually a dessert, and the waiter or waitress asks to bring an extra fork “so you can share”.

I tell people,

“I do not eat out of a trough!”

Furthermore,  if I share, I want to make the offer.

Well on to a different subject.

A friend sent me these six little stories.  I rather like them.

Six Little Stories

{1}   Once all villagers decided to pray for rain.  On  the day of prayer all the people gathered, but only one boy came with an umbrella.

That’s FAITH

{2} When you throw a baby in the air, she laughs because she knows you will catch her.

That’s TRUST

{3} Every night we go to bed, without any assurance of being alive the next morning but still we set the alarms to wake up.

That’s HOPE

{4} We plan big things for tomorrow in spite of zero knowledge of the future.

That’s CONFIDENCE

{5} We see the world suffering, but still we get married and have children.

That’s LOVE

{6} On an old man’s shirt was written a sentence ‘I am not 60 years old….I am sweet 16 with 44 years experience’

That’s ATTITUDE 

more to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the sign up button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

**********************************************

Original Paintings available

Night Shopping

Night Shopping

This Way

This Way

Mon Ami Ma Ami

Mon Ami Ma Ami

Tango

Tango

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, faith, life style, religion, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Eating Me!

  1. Eileen says:

    I loved this post. So true. Wait staff is woefully undertrained these days, and they are not bringing any training from home. I see it every day in every restaurant. Even in Jean Pierre they hover to keep things moving and turn the tables. Fine dining is rare to find.

    Thank you Eileen Cornacchia.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

