Ima Hat Guy


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about accessories.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

button linked to Tribbyart's Boutique     This is the way to Tribbyarts Boutique.  Click on the lion and you will go there.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Click to check out my artwork

Ima Hat Guy

A friend told me that the other day she was in Taboo having lunch when this fellow and his lady came in and sat at the bar.  He was wearing shorts and a gimme cap, backwards most likely.  The bartender said to him, “Sir, We have a policy of no hats being worn in the restaurant”.  The fellow became angry and left, “Lets go some place where they are more friendly”.

I say, “Hats off to Taboo!

I grew up when people believed it was bad manners to wear a hat inside a restaurant.  Nearly every adult male wore a hat, most women as well.  Men did not wear them indoors.  Work places and restaurants had hat stands and hat rooms.  That has certainly changed.  I still believe it is bad manners to wear a hat in most buildings.

I’m a hat guy.  Some women have a lot of shoes.  I have a lot of hats. I have straw hats.

straw hats

straw hats

The one on the right front is a wide brim Panama with a chin strap.  I wear it for croquet.  The strap is essential on windy days.  By the way, did you know that Panama hats come from Ecuador?

The flat brim in the middle is a straw Shaker hat.  I got it at Hancock Shaker Village in Massachusetts, a Shaker museum.

Shaker Straw hat

Shaker Straw hat

My most expensive straw hat is my Borsalino.  I paid more than $300 for it over twenty years ago.  It is very finely woven and light.

 borsalino hat

borsalino hat

It comes with its own box.  Neato!

Hat Box

Hat Box

My least expensive straw hat is not made of straw.  It is made of paper.

 paper hat

paper hat

It cost $6.  I bought two.

I also have felt hats.

Felt hats

Felt hats

The gray Homburg on the right is my oldest hat.  I wore it to work in the financial district of San Francisco in the late 80’s.  My apartment was close to work and I walked when the weather was nice.  Along my way I would pass a shoe shine stand.  The shine man was always friendly and aggressively soliciting business.  Whenever he saw the hat he would call out “How ya do’n, Pops?”

HMMM!

Being a westerner required proper western attire.  My Tom Mix is the real 10 gallon Stetson.

 Tom Mix

Tom Mix

It was a trade mark of Tom Mix, the early movie star.

Tom mix portrait

Tom mix portrait

How does it look?

Tom wearing hat

Tom wearing hat

The others are comfortable and have their own character.

stetson with hat band

Stetson with hat band

 

This one is a favorite.  I added the hat band when I was last in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico.  It is a girl’s hair band; I think it works well as a hat band.

 hat band

hat band

Not all hats are hats.  Some are caps . . . like this one.

v

cap

Being part Irish I felt I had to have it.

So I am a hat guy.  I have them and wear them.

But you know what?

bow ties

bow ties

I am also a bow tie guy!  I tell you about that another time.

more to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the sign up button on the side-bar on the upper right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

**********************************************

Original Works available

Nocturnal Butterfly

Nocturnal Butterfly

giraffes

giraffes

Blue Diva

Blue Diva

Lady in Red

Lady in Red

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us:

 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, life style, Mexico, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ima Hat Guy

  1. Mary Shields says:

    You look pretty hot in your “Tom Mix” hat Mr. Tribby. I like your tie collection too.

    Mary Shields

  2. Great post. You are a gentleman and part of a dwindling breed.

Leave a Reply

