Suits Me!


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about suits, men’s suits.  If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Fine Art America, a Pixel.com company

Pixel.com is producing reproductions of my artwork.  The work is available as traditional prints on canvas, paper or metal, but it also available on greeting cards, phone covers, tote bags, shower curtains,  t-shirts and more.  It makes for some very personalized gifts.  Below is the link to the site.  When you click on an image in the site,  a menu of products will appear.  Check it out.

           CLICK ON:  thomas-tribby.pixels.com

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Suits Me! Suit Yourself!

In my reference library I have books and catalogs covering a lot of interests, everything from art, artists, woodworking, fashion and history.  More probably.

Today I got thinking about men’s fashion.  For the ladies, this must be a non-topic.  Men’s fashion has not changed much over the years.  Look at this.

1920's Suits

1920’s Suits

Look familiar?  These are from the 1920’s, ninety years ago.  Three button front, short lapel, cuffs . . . it’s back.

Personally I prefer the two button front and a long lapel, but then I have always been a fashion rebel.  Hah!

Over the years I have seen subtle changes in men’s fashion, primarily in accessories.

Neck Ties 

Neckties have been a major fashion battleground.  When I was in college I would only wear Ernst Ties.  The square end was a symbol of rebellion.

Ernst Ties

Ernst Ties

I went to Berkeley.  Maybe it was a Bay Area thing.

Next came skinny ties, one or two inches wide.

2 inch tie

2 inch tie

Then wide ties

4 1'2 inch wide tie

4 1/2 inch wide tie

PRIT  TEE exciting!

And today the Bow Tie.

Bow Tie

Bow Tie

I can’t tell you how many ties I have in my closet.

Suspenders (Braces)

Then came suspenders, what the British call braces.  In the early seventies I was living in Phoenix.  One day I was shopping for a suit at one of the better men’s stores.  I told the salesman I wanted buttons for suspenders sewn into the waist-band.

“Suspenders?  Suspenders went out of fashion in the forties.  You are never going to see those again.”

“They are coming back.  I want buttons in my suit.”

When I picked up the suit later there was one button on each side and in the back.  Obviously, they did not understand the concept.  And suspenders did come back and for a time were very popular.  Not so much now, but I have a closet full.

So, what got me thinking about this?

In 2000 my corporate life came to an end.  Since that time I have had few occasions to wear a suit.  Sport coats and more casual attire are what I wear.  Yesterday, Jeanette and  I attended a funeral Mass for a departed friend.  I wore my best suit.

I got to thinking,  “This suit must be 20 years old.  It was part of my corporate life.”  Hey, it still fits!

I remarked to Jeanette, “Jeanette, do you know the last time I wore this suit?  It was at our wedding (nearly thirteen years ago)

My dad had one suit in his later years.  He wore it to weddings and funerals.  As he grew older, he grew smaller.  The suit didn’t.

more to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the sign up button on the side-bar on the upper right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

**********************************************

Original Works available

Nocturnal Butterfly

Nocturnal Butterfly

giraffes

giraffes

Blue Diva

Blue Diva

Lady in Red

Lady in Red

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, life style and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

