Mix Master


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about change, technological change.  If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Fine Art America, a Pixel.com company

Pixel.com is producing reproductions of my artwork.  The work is available as traditional prints on canvas, paper or metal, but it also available on greeting cards, phone covers, tote bags, shower curtains,  t-shirts and more.  It makes for some very personalized gifts.  Below is the link to the site.  When you click on an image in the site,  a menu of products will appear.  Check it out.

           CLICK ON:  thomas-tribby.pixels.com

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

in·no·va·tion

ˌinəˈvāSH(ə)n/

noun
the action or process of innovating.
synonyms: change, alteration, revolution, upheaval,                                                               transformation, metamorphosis, breakthrough; More
a new method, idea, product, etc.

Wonderment

Wonderment

I saw an article in the newspaper the other day about three-dimensional (3D) printers. The price has dropped to around $400 on some models, affordable to the individual and they are sold as a toy for children.  Imagine!  I have a difficult time conceptualizing a machine that can print three-dimensional objects, much less think of it as a toy for children.

We are told that the age of robotics is about to burst forth on us and that the change it will bring, will impact us to the same or greater degree than that brought by the computer.  When I think if a robot, I think of a machine that sort of looks like a human and does tasks like a human would do them.  Or, I think of assembly lines building industrial products such as cars.  I don’t think of services.  But from what I have read, we have now robots that aid impaired people into and out of bed.  Robots are predicted to replace mid-level management staff.  I used to work in a bank.  I can see how that could happen.

Robots are going to bring change to the  very fabric of our lives.

Mixmasters

mixmaster

mixmaster

So what got me on this topic?  Mixmasters.  Mixmasters got me thinking about technological innovation.

Jeanette and I were futzing around in the kitchen and she asked me to get the Mixmaster for her.  So I got out the Kitchen Aide electric kitchen mixer.  Hmm!  Did she ask of the electric kitchen mixer?  Would I have thought that is what it is really if I had not looked it up on google?  No!  That appliance has always been called a mixmaster, as long as I remember.

And, do you know why?  Technological innovation.  Sunbeam invented the mixer in 1928 and introduced it to the public in 1930.  They called it the Mixmaster.  It was revolutionary, a huge advance for the kitchen.  Every woman who could afford one and who cooked wanted a Mixmaster.  So today ninety years later, we still call the appliance a mix master.  Sunbeam still makes them.

Kleenex

facial tissue

facial tissue

What do you ask for if you have a runny nose?
 “Please, may I have a facial tissue?”
I think not.  I bet you ask,
“May I have a Kleenex, please?”

Technological innovation!  Introduced in 1924 by the International Cellucotton Products Company.  It was the first facial tissue marketed in the United States.  The International Cellucotton Products Company has gone by the wayside but the product still exists and today most of us use the word “kleenex” when we want facial tissue.

Xerox

v

v

When we want to make a copy of a printed page or a photo, we often say “I’ll just make a Xerox”  or, “I’ll Xerox this”.  Technological innovation again.  When I was a kid teachers made Memeographs and that became synonymous with “copy” only to be later replaced by “Xerox”.

These are examples of innovations which became lasting shorthand terms in our language.  There are other words which have carried through our language even when they were not a specific singular innovation.  For years we would call the refrigerator in our kitchen an “ice-box”.  I never lived in a house that had an Ice-box, but the “frig” was called an ice-box.  Jeanette still uses “tin foil”.

So I ponder our age of rapid technological innovation.  I wonder what terms for innovations will become lasting shorthand terms in our language.  And, as I write this, I wonder how long the word “shorthand” will stay with us.

More to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the sign up button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

**********************************************

Original Paintings available

Nocturnal Wait

Nocturnal Wait

Click to see

Fishers

Fishers

Click to see

Waiting in Yellow

Waiting in Yellow

Click to see

Cleanup
Cleanup

click to see

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us:

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, English, life style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

