Tax Time Approaches


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about income tax preparation.  If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Fine Art America, a Pixel.com company

Pixel.com is producing reproductions of my artwork.  The work is available as traditional prints on canvas, paper or metal, but it also available on greeting cards, phone covers, tote bags, shower curtains,  t-shirts and more.  It makes for some very personalized gifts.  Below is the link to the site.  When you click on an image in the site,  a menu of products will appear.  Check it out.

           CLICK ON:  thomas-tribby.pixels.com

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Tax Time Approaches

tax time

tax time

It is getting to be that time of year . . .the dreaded income tax due date.  I don’t know why I elevate my blood pressure as it approaches.  Our taxes are pretty simple.  But simple or not, I use the services of a Certified Public Accountant.  I have all my adult life.

My father was a CPA and I guess my comfort level stems from that.  When I was in my mid-20’s I used the services of a CPA who had purchased my father’s business.  She was 40 miles away and I was earning around $7,000 a year.  Still, that was my comfort level.

Fast forward to today and I use the services of my CPA, Karen.  This is the twenty-fifth year.  Again, my comfort level.

But getting ready for my visit to the CPA raises my blood pressure.  This year is no exception.

tax prep

tax prep

It seems we are buried in a landfill of paper.  This must of course be sorted and assembled by category.  All in advance of the tax preparation interview.  Thank goodness for computers!

piles of paper

piles of paper

So . . . I will share with you my latest tax preparation adventure.

tax work

tax work

Yesterday I was shuffling stacks of paper and recording the information in my computer.  Have to be ready for the CPA tomorrow, you know!

work station

work station

There I was, typing away.  My coffee was in easy reach.  The screen was full of information.

I reached over for something and hit the coffee cup.  Over it went, spilling its contents all over my keyboard.

“Cripps!!!  It will short out the key board!  AGGGH!”

Quickly I started blotting away with kleenex.  There was coffee everywhere, on the papers, on the computer table and on the keyboard!  Most of it was soaked up right away, but betwixt the keys on the keyboard, not in your life!

What to do?  I did not want to short out the keyboard.  I needed the keyboard to print the information for my CPA.  What to do? What to do?

Now if you know me, you know that I can be resourceful in time of stress.  Yesterday was no exception.  I rose to the occasion.

“Hairdryer!  That will work.  Use a hairdryer!”

Now the only problem with this solution was the fact that I don’t have a hairdryer.  Jeanette must have one, but she wasn’t home and I did not want to search around the bathroom to see if I could find one.  Besides, in my studio I have tools for most any odd occasion.  One of them is “A Master Heat Gun”.  It is normally used to remove dried paint. It sort of looks like a hairdryer, doesn’t it?

master heat gun

master heat gun

So, “Hot damn!  That will do the trick.”

And, it did.  It dried it right up.

And, it melted the keyboard.

melted keys

melted keys

Just another tax preparation adventure!  I have a new keyboard now.

new Keyboard

new Keyboard

I love tax time!

On a different topic

Last week I wrote about innovations that have come down in our language as generic terms,  terms like “Kleenex”, meaning facial tissue or “Mixmaster” meaning electic kitchen mixer.  In discussing it later, a friend suggested “stereo” for record players or digital sound systems. We were stumped about recent innovations that have become generic terms.  And then she came up with “Google”.  I think she’s got it.  I think I’ll google it.

Can you suggest others?

more to come

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

 Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Wood Cuts available

Glass with White Lilies
Glass with White Lilies
$2300
Homage to Diego
Homage to Diego
$1500

Click to see

Nude with Towel
Nude with Towel
$1500

Click to See

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us: 

 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, English and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

