Closet Secrets!?!


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about things forgotten.  If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Fine Art America, a Pixel.com company

Pixel.com is producing reproductions of my artwork.  The work is available as traditional prints on canvas, paper or metal, but it also available on greeting cards, phone covers, tote bags, shower curtains,  t-shirts and more.  It makes for some very personalized gifts.  Below is the link to the site.  When you click on an image in the site,  a menu of products will appear.  I hope you like it.

           CLICK ON:  thomas-tribby.pixels.com

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Closet Secrets . . .or things long hidden!

Hah!  I bet I got your attention.   It is not as good as you hope.

Today I was rummaging around in my closet and I came across an old Scrap Book.

scrap book

scrap book

It must be closing in on 60 years.  Do people even have these things today?  With all the digital devices I doubt it.

But back then it was where you kept your photographs.  Like this.

v

Photos of times past

I had forgotten.  I do not remember wearing a tuxedo before I was in my 40’s; I don’t remember much about ROTC but what I do remember has nothing to do with a military ball and I had forgotten that I was ever so slender.  Great looking beard though, don’t you think?  I went to Berkeley and it was expected of art students.

India

In the book there is a section recording our time in India in 1959.  My family was moving from Guam to Morocco where my dad had a new job.  We were in India for ten days or two weeks getting visas to pass through Pakistan and Saudi Arabia.

I see pictures today of India and I am struck at how changed it is.  Did you see the movie, Slumdog Millionaire?  In one of the scenes the action takes place at the Taj Mahal.  It is teeming with people:  tourists, vendors, guides.

Look at this picture.

Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal

When we were there, other than a guide or two, we were the only people present.

The same was true at other historic sites.

Only us

Only us

The television representations today of New Delhi show massive crowds, heavy traffic and really, really bad air pollution.

This is how I remember it.

New Delhi: no crowds, no traffic, no air pollution

New Delhi: no crowds, no traffic, no air pollution

We stayed in a hotel which in its day had been grand.  It was large and had well-appointed grounds and gardens.  It had been popular with the British before India’s Independence and the hotel carried on many of the British traditions.

I especially remember the dining room.  It was large and could accommodate several hundred diners.  This impressed me because my family was not one to “eat out” often and when we did it was in a modest establishment.  Here there were white table clothes, china, and impressive table settings.  A carry over from the British colonial days, the wait staff was all dressed in white, including white gloves.  I had never seen white gloves!  The only distraction was the fact . . . the gloves were never washed.  They were black!

So much for the way things were.

More to come.

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Original Paintings Available

www.tribbyart.com

Suits

Suits

On The Street

On The Street

Click to see

Cleanup

Cleanup

Click to See

9-11

9-11

Click to see

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us: 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, tourism, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

