Agh! Gimme grappa


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about the Grappa Story.  If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject.

Cleaning Out the Storage Unit

Ever since returning from Mexico in September I have dealt with “stuff”, “stuff” like my computer crashed, “stuff” like learning to use a Mac instead of a Windows-based system, “stuff” like week-long stays of house guests.  You get the idea.  That is one reason you have not heard much from me lately.  It seems I have been dealing with distractions and little else.

In the midst of this I decided to clean out the  unit where much of my art has been stored when not being exhibited.  I figured this would give me a $3,000 raise.  So I went to it and over the course of a week I methodically transferred the contents of the unit to my garage.

Now when you do this you rediscover things you had long forgotten.  Some are worth rediscovering, but others just become problems.  What to do?

One of the problems was old photographs.  There were boxes of photos mostly of my second wife, Judie, and me.  I had not looked at them since she died in 2003.  Part of me wanted to keep them but another part asked “why?”  There is no one to leave them to.  And there are so many of them.  So, to the point, I decided to go through them, to keep a few and to dispose of the rest.  In doing so I came across photos that brought back to me the Grappa Story.

The Grappa Story

In 2000 Judie and I went to Italy with our friends Gary and Janet.  We spent ten days on the Amalfi Coast.  It was wonderful.  It is a craggy coast south of Naples.  The coast is studded with little villages built high on the cliffs and mountain sides.

We stayed in the Hotel Saracen.  Here you see it.

Hotel Saracen

Hotel Saracen

It is the brown structure below the white building.  The top of the hotel was level with the road and the hotel cascaded down the cliff to the water.

There was lots to do and see in this area.  The ruins of Pompeii were close and towns like Positano and Ravello were easily accessible and, of course, there was the town of Amalfi itself.

Amalfi

Amalfi

This is a very old town.  Today it is a UNESCO World Heritage site.  Among it’s odd attractions is a paper factory, where paper is made by hand using methods dating back centuries.  The factory is said to be the oldest paper factory in europe.

That is where we found ourselves one afternoon.

The factory was not large.  It was about the size of a two car garage.  Dark and dingy.  I don’t remember that it had any windows.  There was one old man working alone, stirring the paper pulp.  Not a particularly good looking guy.  I don’t remember his name.  We’ll just call him Giuseppe.

Giuseppe

Giuseppe

Giuseppe was thrilled to have visitors.  I don’t think I did much for him but he was happy to see the ladies.

I milled around in the shop for a while and eventually wandered back outside.

Milling around

Milling around

I have made paper and it wasn’t that interesting to me.

But it was interesting to Judie and Janet.  They chatted with Giuseppe and looked at the different types of paper being made.  Giuseppe was delighted.

Then Judie asked Janet to take her picture with Giuseppe.

Judie and Giuseppe

Judie and Giuseppe

That seemed like a good idea, so Janet asked Judie to take her picture with Giuseppe.  Judie’s camera was digital and it took a long time to recharge for another picture.  Janet and Giuseppe stood there side by side for what seemed like an age while the camera recharged.  Giuseppe was getting impatient.  Just as the camera finally clicked Giuseppe made his move.

Giuseppe Makes His Move

Giuseppe Makes His Move

Deer in the Headlights

Deer in the Headlights

“AGH!  Grappa.  I need a glass of grappa“, she said as she zipped out the door.

And that is the Grappa Story.

More to come.

Fine Art America, a Pixel.com company

Pixel.com is producing reproductions of my artwork.  The work is available as traditional prints on canvas, paper or metal, but it also available on greeting cards, phone covers, tote bags, shower curtains,  t-shirts and more.  It makes for some very personalized gifts.  Below is the link to the site.  When you click on an image in the site,  a menu of products will appear.  I hope you like it.

           CLICK ON:  thomas-tribby.pixels.com

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Original Paintings Available

www.tribbyart.com

Suits

Suits

On The Street

On The Street

Click to see

Cleanup

Cleanup

Click to See

9-11

9-11

Click to see

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us: 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, life style, tourism, travel, work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

