Athletic Prowess


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about things physical.  If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

 Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject

Athletic Prowess

Well the Super Bowl has come and gone.  Everyone I hear talking about it thinks it is the best game they have seen.  It got me thinking about sports and my tortured relationship therewith.  I have never had much interest in anything that made me sweat.  Early on my avoidance nearly backfired on me.

When I went of to university I was dismayed to know that freshmen were required to take a year of Physical Education (PE).  I never liked PE and thought after high school it would be a thing of the past.  But NOOOO, not so.  We were required to take a year of it.

So, I signed up for Weight Lifting 101.  At least it would be indoors and out of the snow and rain.

Boy was I outclassed.  There were these behemoths squatting under two and three hundred pounds of weight.  I was having a hard time dealing with the twenty pound dumbbells.  Crumb, I had to go to this torture three times a week.  Not my idea of what the University Experience was meant to be.

Fortunately in the second or third week one of the PE coaches came in the weight room and made us a great offer.  It went something like, “Hey listen up guys.  The PE department runs the intramural sports program.  Right now it is baseball.  We need some guys to schedule the games, keep the records and oversee the program.  Anyone who volunteers will get a “A” in PE and won’t have to attend class.  Any of you guys interested?”

Two of us flew to the front with a big “YEEEES“.

That quarter I got an “A” in Weight Lifting.

weightlifter

weightlifter

Second quarter I mastered Tennis.  Got an “A” in it.

tennis

tennis

I thought  this is great.  Third quarter I decided to be adventurous and signed up for Modern Dance.  I imagined how great that would look on my transcript.

Modern Dance

Modern Dance

Unfortunately, that was a no go.  Modern Dance was in the Women’s PE Department and our little arrangement had to be kept to ourselves.  So I got an “A” in field and Track.

Track

Track

And I was through with PE and didn’t give it another thought for four years.

Four years?  Yes, four years.  I was in my first job after graduation.  I was the Art teacher at West High in Bakersfield, California.  One afternoon after classes the Assistant Principal came into my classroom  obviously excited.  “Tribby, I just saw your transcript.  You have straight A’s in PE.  That is great.  We need a football coach here!”

More to come

Fine Art America, a Pixel.com company

Pixel.com is producing reproductions of my artwork.  The work is available as traditional prints on canvas, paper or metal, but it also available on greeting cards, phone covers, tote bags, shower curtains,  t-shirts and more.  It makes for some very personalized gifts.  Below is the link to the site.  When you click on an image in the site,  a menu of products will appear.  I hope you like it.

           CLICK ON:  thomas-tribby.pixels.com

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

Tribbyart’s Boutique

*****************************

Late Summer Nantucket

Late Summer Nantucket

Click to see

In The Casbah

In The Kasbah

Click to see

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us: 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit, games, life style, work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

