Wanna have some Fun?


Hello

Today we are going to Muse about using your cell phone to make great pictures.   If this is your first visit, welcome to Musings. If you have been here before, welcome back. Over time we are going to talk about many things: the past, the present, perhaps the future, travel, art, society and more. Wherever my musing takes me. I hope you will come along with me.

Colored text is a link.  Clicking on the text will provide additional information about the subject

Wanna have some Fun?

A friend of mine, Bob Chilton, is a wonderful photographer.  You can google him and see some of his work.  He also offers workshops and a video on how to create interesting photographs with your cell phone or tablet.  Thats what I am musing about today.

Bob introduced me to a free app called

Snapseed

Snapseed_Icon

Snapseed_Icon

This is a photo editing program you can download to your phone or tablet.  It allows you to change and enhance your photographs.

Recently I was in New York and I amused myself by playing around with my I-phone, using Snapseed to edit my pictures.

I’ll show you a few examples.

This was a pretty uninteresting shot of a street ahead.

street scene

street scene

I cropped it and intensified the color and created this.

Yellow Taxi and bike

Yellow Taxi and bike

In another picture I started with this:

original photo

original photo

I decided to lighten the image

lightened image

lightened image

And to add some drama.

Creating drama

Creating drama

I put in some grunge.

A bit of grunge

A bit of grunge

And I cropped the scene.

Final scene

Final scene

I don’t know about you, but I think the last picture is much more interesting than the one from which it came.

Here is another example.  This woman walked past me engrossed in a conversation on her cell phone.

original photo

original photo

I darkened the picture and added a grainy film treatment and got this:

Darkened and grainy texture

Darkened and grainy texture

And then I cropped it.

Final iteration

Final iteration  Reflection in the window

The original picture was pretty boring.  I think this one is interesting.

And, you can do it on your phone . . . with Snapseed.  Try it.  You will have fun.

More to come

Fine Art America, a Pixel.com company

Pixel.com is producing reproductions of my artwork.  The work is available as traditional prints on canvas, paper or metal, but it also available on greeting cards, phone covers, tote bags, shower curtains,  t-shirts and more.  It makes for some very personalized gifts.  Below is the link to the site.  When you click on an image in the site,  a menu of products will appear.  I hope you like it.

           CLICK ON:  thomas-tribby.pixels.com

If you like Musings, take a moment and click the subscription button on the side-bar to the right so you will be notified by e-mail when I make a new post.

****************************************

Books by Thomas L. Tribby Available
Click on title below to preview

Works on Paper

On The Waterfront

Impressions of Florida

*****************************

These are New Works at

                                thomas-tribby.pixels.com

Spring Palms

Spring Palms

Click to see

Tropical Ballet

Tropical Ballet

Snag

Snag

Click to See

For information about these or other original works of art, please feel free to contact us: 

 

 

 

About Thomas L. Tribby

Professional artist: painter, sculptor, print maker. Maintains a studio in West Palm Beach, Florida
This entry was posted in art, art exhibit and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

